Compilation on the 2016 Euroradio Jazz Competition Finals with audio excerpts and interviews.

Flash is required!

Sisters of Invention win the Euroradio Jazz Competition 2016

Sisters of Invention

Winner of the Euroradio Jazz Competition 2016 is Sisters of Invention from Sweden.
The jury represented by chairman Hugo Sekoranja : "We choose to go for originality. The set of this duo with drums, soprano sax, vocals and loops was unique."

Euroradio Jazz Competition 2016

Four young ensembles entered by EBU Members will perform during a half-hour public set at the finals of the 2016 Euroradio Jazz Competition (EJC), to be held on 6 July at Amsterdam’s stunning Bimhuis.

The finalists are the following:

The finalists were selected by the following jury members:

  • Wijnand Honig (NPO Soul&Jazz / NTR, Netherlands)
  • Jelena Balent (HRT, Croatia)
  • Václav Vraný  (CR, Czech Republic)
  • Hugo Šekoranja (RTS, Slovenia)
  • Janne Lindvall (SR, Sweden)

The EJC is organized in partnership with Dutch Public Radio/NPO Soul & Jazz and the Dutch EJC Foundation and showcases young jazz artists through broadcasts by Euroradio Members.

The Grand Prix of €3,000 will be awarded by a prestigious Grand Jury.

Audio recordings of the semi-finals and finals will be made available to EBU Members for unlimited broadcast until 1 August 2017.

Flash Pig winner of the European Jazz Competition 2015

The French band Flash Pig is the winner of the European Jazz Competition Award "Best Group 2015". In addition Michal Wierzgori, drummer of the Ostrich Quartet from the Czech Republic received the Award for Best Soloist.

Due to the overall inspiring presentations of young, international top talent, Jury chairman Mijke van Wijk made clear that it was not an easy task to select the winners of the sixth European Jazz Competition.

The Jury verdict of the winner: "Their last song was magic, they had a story to tell, good sense of the jazz tradition and humor"

And for the best soloist: "He is inventive and very interactive, has a good overview and is the driving force of his band"

The Jury was completed by Janne Lindvall, member of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) Jazz Committee and music editor for the Swedish radio, the internationally acclaimed for saxophone player Rolf Delfos, the Belgian Manu van Doorselaer, programmer for Brussels Jazz Marathon and the programmer for the North Sea Jazz as well as for LantarenVenster in Rotterdam, Frank Bolder.

Thanks to the network of the EBU and the cooperation of the NPO and NTR, the finals will be aired around Europe.

The EJC is set up in 2006 by the EBU, the North Sea Jazz Festival and the Dutch Foundation EJC in order to offer European jazz talent a platform and promotion.

The present main partners of the EJC are the EBU and Sena, while NORMA, Rotterdam Festivals and the Ntb also made  contributions to make this European concours go round.

content vlakken